Great tool for lawyers on the move…

As I continue my journey through this world of tech it is always exciting to find new products. My most recent find is Evernote.

Evernote is like a bunch of virtual post-it notes. Got a burning idea, or just had a fleeting memory of a defence you’ve to got to file within the week?

Evernote enables you to capture those thoughts and file them for you to revisit and follow up on at a later date.

I suspect the breadth of potential application of Evernote’s functions could be immense. I am only just scratching the surface of it but new uses are presenting themselves already. This blog post is a good example. I am writing this on Evernote on my HTC Hero mobile while I sup coffee in a cafe. I take a picture and also save that to Evernote…

Great blogging coffee from Urban Espresso, Keynsham, Bristol

In a moment I will save it to my hosted account. When I have a moment, later in the day, I will cut and paste it, add a photo within WordPress and appropriate links and then post.

The result? Spontaneous blogging just the way it is supposed to be.

Have a look at Evernote and let me know what you think. If you are already using it, how do you use yours?

4 Comments

Filed under General Technology, Law, Lawyers and Social Media

4 responses to “Great tool for lawyers on the move…

  1. I tried it for a while, but I never quite “clicked” with it.

    I love the fact that you can search text (including in pictures of business cards etc) – but what I really want is the text from those cards transcribed into a format I can read and browse rather than just looking at a picture of the card. I don’t know why, but it just makes more sense to me that way.

    I have ended up using “To-do” on the iPhone for notes and tasks and http://www.cloudcontacts.com for contacts.

    You do have to pay for CloudContacts, but it is an absolutely awesome service for business cards – snap a photo on your iPhone and email it and all the information is transcribed and uploaded to your CloudContacts page – and can also be downloaded to Outlook.

    It used to be a monthly subscription, but they have moved now to a pay per card model where you buy credits which suits me better.

    I don’t know how the transcription is done, but it always seems to be perfect, which is more that I can say for other card readers I have tried.

    I’m not getting paid by them to say this (unfortunately!) – just think it is a great service. Also an interesting example of how you *can* charge for some things even on the internet.

  2. Pingback: Kindle, Moleskine and the iTablet « Lawyer1point9

  3. Takes a while to click with Evernote, but I love it!

    My latest plaything though is prezi.com

  4. Thanks for the comments and the pointers to other tools. I’ll be sure to check them out.

Leave a Reply

